Facilities Maintenance

Who we are:

UA Facilities Maintenance Department is a multi-disciplined organization consisting of 93 employees practicing the following trades:

  • Carpentry
  • Cabinet Making (Cabinet Shop Gallery)
  • Pest Management
  • Painting
  • Roofing
  • Flooring
  • Masonry/Concrete
  • Building Envelope
  • Renovation Team

What we do:

  • Facilities Maintenance performs maintenance, renovation, and construction services in the areas listed above for all University of Alabama Facilities.  UA Pest Management provides the full spectrum of pest control services, including termite system installation and monitoring.

How to request maintenance service:

If you are experiencing a maintenance related problem, please contact the maintenance department by one of the following methods:

  • Routine maintenance request for service should be submitted through your building representative.
  • If you are a Housing Resident, contact Regina Stapleton at 348-6188 to report maintenance related problems.
  • If you have an emergency maintenance problem, call the Service Response Center directly at 348-6001. If after 5:00pm, call the University Police Department at 348-5454.

How to request renovation or construction service:

  • If your proposed project will involve more than one trade, change the use of a University space, or has a budget greater than $5,000, you will need to fill out a Project Initiation Request.
  • If the request does not meet these guidelines, you may call the Facilities Maintenance office at 348-3962, and you will be directed to the appropriate party.

Facilities Maintenance Department Contacts

Name Position Email Phone
Trent Hall Director tahall@fa.ua.edu 348-3963
Michael Sumners Manager msumners@fa.ua.edu 348-5504
Tyler Capell Assistant Manager tcapell@fa.ua.edu 348-0816
AJ Johnston Assistant Manager ajohnston@fa.ua.edu 348-6198
David Marlowe Assistant Manager dmarlowe@fa.ua.edu 348-5909
Scott Matherson Assistant Manager ematherson@fa.ua.edu 348-0363
Mike Spooner Building Envelope Manager mspooner@fa.ua.edu 348-8158